Up close and personal

August 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

What do you think the average 22-year-old female does on her free time? Drink? Party? Get high? Fuck random men? Is this normal? It seems like I’m surrounded by individuals who crave for such things. These “people” somehow are polluting my perception of “people”. I am for sure not everyone in my age group would involve themself promiscuous activities like these. Do you want to know what I do on my free time? You could either catch me reading or writing. Yeah, that’s right. Let me restate: I would be reading or writing on my free time. Yes, it’s fun. You should try it. I absolutely love it! Call me boring. To be honest, I did have my phase of living a crazy life – a life that was left absent from my sheltered upbringing. My parents, who failed at parenting, never gave me the chance to have a taste of reality. This is where the rebel lying dormant within me unleashed very late in life. Though I didn’t approve of the irresponsible nightlife, I wanted to have experience. I couldn’t have a say against it unless I have experienced it, right? It’s like saying, “I hate sushi” when you never even tried it. So, I did a little this and that, which lasted for no more than 3 months, and then that was it. I got tired and became a little paranoid about the slippery slope my life was downgrading to. I know I’m better than this. I know I’m responsible, and I know I have a future ahead of me. In other words, I matured very early in life…or to look at this on a negative note, I am “boring”.

I am fortunate enough to have the mentality to think for myself and not everyone. I don’t care about what anyone thinks. I really don’t. Honestly, what makes another human better than the other? Say, you go to a highly competitive job interview: What makes your competitor better than you? After all, he/she is just another human, right? Right! Anyone is capable of anything. As Steve Jobs said in his commencement speech, “Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to loose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.” Viewing society from this perspective has given me more confidence in what I do and not (excuse the language) give a fuck about what those motherfuckers think. Do what you love. You’re better than to let someone else’s insignificant opinion prevent you from doing anything you could potentially achieve. Don’t let them win.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Up close and personal at Blog by MissKho.

meta

