Bullshit Love Story

May 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

I rummaged through old scraps for the incomplete novel I was writing a few months prior – not hoping for it to be published because there are plenty of rough edges. The following excerpt is the first draft of the novel that is yet to be named. It’s a typical love story about a girl wanting to get back with her ex. The beginning of the story describes Grace’s initial reaction when Damien breaks up with her. It’s written in first person.

        My heart drew cold, my fingers shaking uncontrollably. I have become lost in an unknown world – alone. I’ve lead my life in an aimless direction attempting to reach a destination I know I’ll never reach. I was hopeless.
        Damien broke it off on the phone after an intense argument. I don’t even recall what we even argued about. The only words that spoke the loudest and hammered my heart was when he yelled,”It’s over!” then he hung up.
        I lay motionless on my carpet reminiscing what just happened. “It is impossible.” I thought to myself.
         “Don’t ever call me again, Grace. I don’t want to hear from you!” His hurtful words would not stop replaying in my head. It’s like a broken tape recorder shooting bullets reminding me what I already experienced. In my isolated state, I can hear my unsteady breaths, my deafening heartbeat, yet feel a deep void in my chest. Am I still alive? I refused to process what happened. Not just yet…



Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bullshit Love Story at Blog by MissKho.

meta

