The Lunar Eclipse Somehow Reminded Me of Death

December 21, 2010 § 1 Comment

The lunar eclipse that’s happening this very night is more significant than any other lunar eclipses of our time. Why? It coincides with the winter solstice. This extremely rare event – according to astronomers – occurred in December 21, 1638, and also happened to land on a Tuesday morning. A similar event like this is going to happen in the year 2094. I believe only the babies alive today will see it if they are lucky enough to surpass living more than 80 years…AND if their 80+ year old eyes are strong enough to see it.

It’s definitely unlikely for me to be alive in the year 2094. I’d be 105 years old. You see, the idea of death lies dormant in my conscious mind. It’s not something I think about everyday. When I really think hard about the fact, it scares me, and that’s an understatement. I don’t intend on sounding so depressing. My complex mind thought of it when I didn’t want to.

This phenomenal occurrence caused me to imagine what kind of death I will undergo. I’m most definitely afraid of drowning or dying in a fire – that’s the worst. If I could choose, I’d rather die overdosing on Tylenol and massive amounts of alcohol in my system. You just go to sleep and then…you’re gone. No pain, no nothing, as what I’ve read from multiple sources.

Looking at this “death” situation in a better light, I guess I could use it to make my life better like making my life worth living. As the cliché saying goes, “Live everyday as if it was your last”. That pretty much sums it all up.

In all my 21 years alive, I wasn’t actually living — I was existing. You may think I’m strange. Don’t ask me how a damn lunar eclipse made me think so deeply about life and death.

§ One Response to The Lunar Eclipse Somehow Reminded Me of Death

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Lunar Eclipse Somehow Reminded Me of Death at Blog by MissKho.

meta

